The Motorists Concours D’Elegance debuts with world-class quality

A stunning array of cars, displayed against the spectacular backdrop of Point Leo Estate sculpture garden, cements the inaugural Concours show as an event to mark in your calendar.

Even the wild winds of Westernport Bay could not put a dampener on the first-ever Motorists Concours D’Elegance event this past weekend.

A spectacular display of cars, seamlessly blending vintage with classic, and classic with modern, nestled in the picturesque surrounds of the Point Leo Estate sculpture park, had the sense of a mature and established event, not one in its debut year.

With over 100 vehicles on display, spanning ten judging categories, the Concours included an eclectic mix of beautifully presented vehicles ranging from a 1936 Mercedes-Benz 540K Roadster, to a 1965 Volvo P1800S coupe, through to the only McLaren F1 in Australia, a car valued in excess of $20 million.

All vehicles were presented with a neat QR code system to allow visitors to quickly learn more about the car, and vote for their ‘People’s Choice’ favourite.

David Belford, of The Motorists, noted “The Motorists Concours D’Elegance at Point Leo Estate on the weekend was the realisation of a dream we all had at The Motorists.”

“I was incredibly proud to see the calibre of event we were able to bring together. The level of cars displayed amongst the Sculpture at Point Leo Estate was truly world-class. The positive feedback from entrants and guests so far has been overwhelming, with guests comparing it to Concours they have been to overseas.”

Winners of all categories were announced on Sunday afternoon, with the 1926 Rolls-Royce 20hp Skiff taking the ‘Best in Show’ prize, while the 1961 Porsche 356B Coupe took the ‘People’s Choice’ honours.

A full list of entrants across all categories can be found below.

Plans are already underway for a follow-up even in 2023 with Belford noting “we are already fielding a few special car entries for next year which we are thoroughly looking forward to.”

If the debut show is anything to go by, we cannot wait for next year!

2022 Motorists Concours D’Elegance gallery

2022 Motorists Concours D’Elegance entry list (by category)

Category Year Make Model
Brass 1908 Delage Type G Race
1913 De Dion-Bouton DW2
Vintage 1927 Salmson Grand Prix
1923 Bugatti T23 Brescia
1923 Cadillac V63 Tourer
1923 Rolls-Royce Ghost Brougham De Ville
1926 Rolls-Royce 20hp Skiff
Pre-War 1936 Mercedes-Benz 540K Roadster
1938 BMW 328 Roadster
1939 Jaguar SS 2.5-litre Saloon
1934 Bentley 3 1/2-litre Arthur Mulliner FHC
1935 Alta 1100 SC
Post-War 1957 Mercedes-Benz 300SL Roadster
1957 Mercedes-Benz 300SL Gullwing
1952 Lancia Aurelia B20 Series 2 Coupe
1949 Bristol 402 DHC
1947 Chevrolet Fleetmaster Woody
1956 Jaguar XK140 FHC
1958 Bentley S1 Continental
1954 Arnolt Bristol Roadster
1962 Rolls-Royce Silver Cloud II
1950 Bentley Mk VI Saloon
Classic Era 1981 Porsche 924 Carrera GT
1967 Alfa Romeo Tipo 105 1600 GTC
1960 Porsche 356B Roadster
1974 Holden Torana
1966 Ford Mustang 289
1960 Fiat 600 Multipla
1967 Chevrolet Corvette Stingray Roadster
1967 Chevrolet Corvette 427 Coupe
1965 Jaguar E-Type Roadster
1968 Holden HK Monaro GTS
1967 Ford Mustang Shelby GT500
1967 Jaguar E-Type FHC
1967 Daimler 250 Saloon
1971 Porsche 914/6
1962 Porsche 356 Convertible
1974 BMW 2002 Turbo
1976 Ferrari 308 GTB
1968 Alfa Romeo 1750 Coupe
1975 Alfa Romeo Montreal
1957 Alfa Romeo Tip 101 Giulietta Spider
1972 Aston Martin Vantage
1969 Lancia Fulvia HF Fanalone
1984 Jaguar XJS
1974 Porsche Carrera 2.7 Targa
1985 Aston Martin V8 Oscar India GT
1965 Volvo P1800S Coupe
1966 Ferrari 330 GT
1962 Ferrari 250 GTE
1973 Ferrari 365 GTB/4 Daytona
1972 Ferrari 365 GTC/4 Coupe
1961 Porsche 365 T5B Coupe
1971 Mazda Cosmo
1961 Jaguar E-Type Roadster
1959 Porsche 356 Convertible
1967 Triumph TR5 Convertible
1971 Porsche 911E Sportomatic
1975 Rolls-Royce Corniche Convertible
1970 Mercedes-Benz 280SE 3.5 Convertible
1977 Rolls-Royce Camargue
1967 Mercedes-Benz 600 Grosser
1964 Alfa Romeo Giulietta Sprint Speciale
1932 Delage D8S Coupe
1925 Bentley 3-litre Supersport
Motor History 1972 Lola T290
1973 Porsche 911 RS Rally
1967 Lancia Fulvia HF
1965 Alfa Romeo 105 GTA 1600
1963 Jaguar E-Type Low-drag
1972 Porsche 911 ST
1971 Ferrari Daytona Competition Coupe
2016 Aston Martin V12 Vantage GT3
Preservation 1969 Ford Mustang Boss 429
1964 Porsche 911 Coupe
1973 Porsche 911 2.4E Coupe
1972 Ferrari Dino 246GTS
1959 Citroen 2CV
1962 Aston Martin DB4 Series 4
1973 Ferrari Daytona
1975 Lamborghini Urraco 300
1963 Lancia Flamminia Pininfarina Coupe
1965 ISO Grifo
1960 Ferrari 250GT Coupe
Supercar 1994 McLaren F1
2007 Ferrari 599 GTB
2004 Porsche Carrera GT
2005 Mercedes-Benz SLR McLaren
2000 BMW Z8
1984 Ferrari Testarossa
1989 Ferrari F40
1984 Ferrari 288 GTO
1977 Lamborghini Countach LP400
1984 DeTomaso Pantera GT5
1985 Lamborghini Countach 5000QV
1979 Ferrari 512BB
Display 1981 Williams F1 FW07
2021 Bentley Continental GT3
2021 Bentley Continental Coupe
2020 Porsche 911 GT2 RS race
2020 Porsche 911 GT2 RS MR
2021 Aston Martin Vantage GT3 race
2021 Aston Martin Vantage
2022 Formula 1 Grand Prix car
2017 Alfa Romeo Giulia Quadrifoglio
2021 Alfa Romeo GTAm
2020 Lamborghini Huracan STO
2021 Rolls-Royce Ghost Black Badge
2021 Aston Martin Vantage F1
2021 Pagani Huayra
2021 Bentley Flying Spur W12
2021 Audi e-tron S
2020 Ferrari Roma

The post The Motorists Concours D’Elegance debuts with world-class quality appeared first on Drive.

Source: Drive Read More